Connect Now To Instantly Access Premium Content

Part 1/2 Heads Up Session Review

Mr Margo 3,249 Views 42:09 Duration

No Reviews
Recommended For You

GGPoker 25nl Part 2/2

In this brand new series on GG poker top PokerVIP ...

172

GGPoker 25nl Part 1/2

In this brand new series on GG poker top PokerVIP ...

186

GUTS 20nl & 50nl: Part 2/2

Fed up of not being able to get out of the micros?...

164

GUTS 20nl & 50nl: Part 1/2

Fed up of not being able to get out of the micros?...

145

GGPoker Site Review & Strategy 2/2

Now is the time to make some huge money by playing...

227

Social
Like this video?Share it with your friends!ReplayComment
Mr Margo
Mr Margo
13 Videos

Mr. Margo is our latest NLH heads up cash game coach. Making great content focused heavily on dynamics and stats. Margo plays anywhere up to 200nl and is progressing quickly up the levels. Boasting a poker players dream graph and win rate this will be the place to learn nlh heads up cash! 

See how Mr.Margo adjusts vs an over aggressive opponent who loved using the POT button. 

Part 2 of the series 

Reviews

No Reviews

You need to be logged in to post a review

No reviews yet
Why don't you let us what you think?

Comments

You need to be logged in to post a new comment

MJ23

MJ23on 4/1/14

Thanks for the video. Aggressive Limpers are ones of my worse enemies

Chrizzmeister

Chrizzmeisteron 1/9/13

learned a lot thanks!

AKQJ10LT

AKQJ10LTon 29/8/13

Yup , totally agree.

Mr. Margo

Mr. Margoon 29/8/13

You will definitely have some swings against this guy but you can also achieve a high winrate.

AKQJ10LT

AKQJ10LTon 29/8/13

Ugly opponent but very profitable.

Navonod

Navonodon 28/8/13

one more thing, I know what you mean about the \"thin call down with second pair\" since he\'s potting a weak Ax there but I don\'t think that\'s the right way to adjust. I guess you\'re thinking \"oh, so this guy isn\'t betting as polarized a range as I thought he was, maybe I shouldn\'t be so eager to call the potter there.\" Something like that. But that dude wasn\'t range merging you or anything he is just a maniac who thinks that he bluffs enough to get paid off on his Ax\'s. Maybe that sounds like the same thing but I don\'t think it is. If you were playing against me my range would be pretty polarized in spots like that until we got into it some but I don\'t think this guys thinking on that level and you shouldn\'t be thinking about calling with JJ because \"he reps a polarized range\" you should expect him to bluff, value bet, and bet the stuff you and I would check and call with. He may not even have a check call range there. I think you make that same play, take that same line against him 100 times and you show a huge profit. I THINK, still haven\'t finished watching the vid.
GL 2 you. May you be blessed enough to always play vs tards like this and RUN OK. I wish you ambiguous luck. I\'m sure you can take care of the rest. May you run at expectation, nothing more nothing less.lol
L8rs

Navonod

Navonodon 28/8/13

actually though, I don\'t mean that we should bet check bet against maniacs with A5 on Axx,
I mean that the flop texture is pretty dry and we can plan our line right away as bet flop, check turn, bet river against even an unknown player at 200nl HU. I know many players would take your line but I think it\'s inferior against all but calling stations. My thought process here is that betting flop and turn is how we would play our strongest hands and, if we are going to bluff two streets on a dry board we are going to use the flop and turn because the turn allows us to put a lot of pressure on but, for the same reason that we should often chose the flop and turn to bluff when we are going to bluff exactly two streets I think its is better to bet the flop and the river if we plan to bet for value without a really big hand. Basically if we think we\'re going for 2 streets most of the time (for value) we do better betting flop checking turn and betting or calling on the river on static flops. If we want to bluff and are willing to bet twice the turn is better because that\'s how we play our strongest hands and villain still has to worry about river, plus we show we are not worried about check raise on the turn (which is not true with our A5 here). I think on static flop textures we really ought to save bet flop bet turn for a polarized range without reads. Top pair with a big kicker or better and air.
Just the way I see it.
If the board was more volatile, maybe you had Jc9d on 9d6c4c then bet flop and bet a lot of turns planning to check back most rivers makes a ton more sense to me.

Navonod

Navonodon 28/8/13

I don\'t want to say you\'re wrong Scooper. But we don\'t want to discourage a player to correct his biggest weakness do we? If we know (just for instance) that a players biggest leak is that he bluffs too much then what happens if we get him to stop bluffing too much? Well, if we do that we make him play better and that seems bad. We WANT to seem weak when we take a line with a hand that has show down value against a player who will bluff a lot. That\'s actually the point. Also, we just want to limit our losses when we are behind and max out wins when ahead in general right? So how do we do that vs bully? We starve him out. These guys bleed money by betting too aggressively, bluffing too much, etc. One big reason they can survive and even thrive against many opponents is because A) when they do have a big hand they get more action than they ought to or more action than most players would. Like, if we check he bets and we think \"He can\'t have it every time and my hands pretty good\" so we raise him and he gets our entire stack with a hand we would never go broke with vs a normal player.
By raising a maniac with something like JJ on Axxx we stop him from bluffing
BAD
and we never fold out better hands
BAD
and when we do catch him with a draw he\'s more likely to raise us and now we have JJ on Axx and got re-raised
BAD
sometimes you get out drawn playing vs these guys but the best play on balance is often to make plays that encourage them to make the mistakes they make most often.
And with AQ (TPTK) maybe we can just check-raise and get it in. But I surely wouldn\'t do it on the flop. I want to let him hang himself. That\'s my opinion and depends on the particular maniac.
If you\'re up against an aggressive player who likes to bet whenever you show weakness but will back off if he encounters resistance (unless he has the goods) then you show weakness
If you\'re up against a super spewer who just refuses to let go of a pot then you can check-raise-get it in with TPTK
IMHO AQ on Qxx vs this player is a check-call, check-call, check-jam. IF he checks at any point you are betting the next street obviously but \"why do the pushing when the donkey will do the pulling?\"

Navonod

Navonodon 28/8/13

I don\'t want to say you\'re wrong Scooper. But we don\'t want to discourage a player to correct his biggest weakness do we? If we know (just for instance) that a players biggest leak is that he bluffs too much then what happens if we get him to stop bluffing too much? Well, if we do that we make him play better and that seems bad. We WANT to seem weak when we take a line with a hand that has show down value against a player who will bluff a lot. That\'s actually the point. Also, we just want to limit our losses when we are behind and max out wins when ahead in general right? So how do we do that vs bully? We starve him out. These guys bleed money by betting too aggressively, bluffing too much, etc. One big reason they can survive and even thrive against many opponents is because A) when they do have a big hand they get more action than they ought to or more action than most players would. Like, if we check he bets and we think \"He can\'t have it every time and my hands pretty good\" so we raise him and he gets our entire stack with a hand we would never go broke with vs a normal player.
By raising a maniac with something like JJ on Axxx we stop him from bluffing
BAD
and we never fold out better hands
BAD
and when we do catch him with a draw he\'s more likely to raise us and now we have JJ on Axx and got re-raised
BAD
sometimes you get out drawn playing vs these guys but the best play on balance is often to make plays that encourage them to make the mistakes they make most often.
And with AQ (TPTK) maybe we can just check-raise and get it in. But I surely wouldn\'t do it on the flop. I want to let him hang himself. That\'s my opinion and depends on the particular maniac.
If you\'re up against an aggressive player who likes to bet whenever you show weakness but will back off if he encounters resistance (unless he has the goods) then you show weakness
If you\'re up against a super spewer who just refuses to let go of a pot then you can check-raise-get it in with TPTK
IMHO AQ on Qxx vs this player is a check-call, check-call, check-jam. IF he checks at any point you are betting the next street obviously but \"why do the pushing when the donkey will do the pulling?\"

scooper

scooperon 28/8/13

Around 18:00 min.Don\'t you think shoving over his bet on turn would get you more value if you don\'t put him on A that much. there is possible flush draw or 4. If river was Ts and he was having draw on turn, K high or pp(88-TT) you aren\'t getting value from worse hands and your plan is to x/c which I think it\'s weak line. He will be more inclined to bully you in future if you just x/c. If you are planning to hit hand and let him do the betting you will be blinded out. Correct me if I\'m wrong

Mr. Margo

Mr. Margoon 27/8/13

I think you can be pretty sure about him being a maniac after he pots the first few hands. Most people I played so far and started a match like this were maniac.

On the AQ hand: In my opinion AQ is too strong to take it in our c/c range. I would take a hand like Q9s,QJ here into my c/c range. Obviously we want to induce a lot against this guy but AQ is good enough for a value c/r.
On JJ I am not talking myself out of the play. I just analyse his range for potting flop turn here and say that if he just pots a weak Ace on the turn that I shouldn\'t make so many thin calldowns with 2nd pair kind of hands.


On the A5 hand: It was the first hand so I have no evidence that he will bluff a lot when I check behind so my standard is to just play solid and bet flop, turn and reevaluate river if I have a valuebet there.
I agree with you that if we know that he is a maniac small Aces are a great hand here to check behind flop or turn and then induce bets. If the hand would have happenend after a few hands then I would have checked back the turn to snap off a potbet on the river.

Thanks for the feedback and hit me up if you have any more questions :)

Navonod

Navonodon 27/8/13

just in my opinion, and prolly not a popular one but would have just happened to work out for you and it seems to \"just happen to work out\" A LOT.
In the very first hand vs total unknown, With A5 on the bttn on Axxx,
bet flop
check turn
call or bet river
(problem solved)
The Ax is the most overt part of your value range. I think its unlikely you get 3 streets from worse in the first hand of the match on Axx. You limit your losses, invite bluffs to pick off, get lighter calls (more often get 2 streets) by checking the turn back.
If you have reads and he\'s a station you can go for 3 I guess
If he\'s a maniac you can maybe even check flop back and call turn and river or bet turn and river if he checks them but readless and against some decent players, I like to bet check bet in those spots

Navonod

Navonodon 27/8/13

Mr Margo, do you not think that we can be fairly sure our villain in this vid is a maniac by 5 or 10 minutes in? I\'ve gotta go and come back to this later. I would like to discuss some of the adjustments I usually make vs maniacs because you seem to know exactly what you\'re doing but our adjustments vs maniacs must be very very different. I can tell you know what you\'re doing, so maybe I\'m wrong, But I think maybe you and I could learn from each other.
Man, at 14 minutes just for example (cause that\'s whats playing on my screen right now) the idea of check raising this guy on he flop holding AQ on Qxx makes me want to scream \"NOOOOOO!!!!!!! WHAT ARE YOU DOING???\"

Here\'s the basic formula for beating maniacs IMHO;
raise less often
call more often
end of adjustments.

Thoughts on that?
Like FOR SURE we ought to be check calling vs this guy a TON (like TPTK for instance, with AQ)
it does seem like you are adjusting and playing more like me as I\'m watching the hands after wards. Like the line with JJ on Axxx. He limps bttn you bet HUGE with JJ (which is fine). Then you check and call down on Axx. That\'s all fine.
But now I hear you starting to talk yourself out of that play. It was the right play, he is not supposed to have the Ace, OK so he had it. He usually will not have it and he will bet anyway. You did the right thing.
gotta run.
I hope you crushed this agro tard, I\'m assuming you did and certainly gonna be watching the end later.

Sign Up To Watch More

It only takes 1 minute to register and unlock access to unlimited poker videos.

OR

Take Part In This Promotion

Its easy, simply register with one of the rooms below and add your username to your PokerVIP account

Its easy, simply register with one of the rooms below and add your username to your PokerVIP account.
Add your "Room Name" username and register with PokerVIPEarn 250 VIP Points Instantly & 10 VIP Points for Every $1 in Rake.

"Room Name" Screename:

Register
Login

PokerVIP Credentials:

PokerVIP Credentials: